Chile’s Latam announces suspension of flights to domestic and international destinations

SANTIAGO – Latam Airlines reported the suspension of ticket sales for a series of destinations both domestic (Chile) and international from airports in Chile.

This is due to travel restrictions, low demand, and current market conditions, in the context of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Chilean airline has filed for Chapter 11 of the United States and is looking forward to adjusting its operations for the coming years. In the case of domestic routes within Chile, flights from Concepción to Punta Arenas and Antofagasta, and from La Serena to Calama and the city of Antofagasta will be suspended. Nor will flights resume from Santiago to Osorno, Castro and Puerto Natales.

For international itineraries, direct flights from Santiago to Brasilia and Rio de Janeiro (Brazil), Mendoza (Argentina), Punta Cana (Dominican Republic), Cancun (Mexico), Cusco (Peru), Melbourne (Australia), among others, will be suspended. Destinations. The route from Lima (Peru) to Concepción and Calama, and from Iquique to Salta will also be suspended.

From LATAM they indicated that passengers who have purchased tickets to fly on the previously described suspended routes will be progressively notified via email, offering them the possibility of making date and / or destination changes, or request a travel voucher for the amount canceled through the My Trips option (in, or through the Contact Center numbers corresponding to your country.

Routes temporarily suspended, according to the information provided by LATAM, the following routes will be suspended until further notice.

Latam Airlines Argentina ceases internal operations indefinitely

Domestic routes within Chile:

Concepción (CCP) – Punta Arenas (PUQ)
Antofagasta (ANF) – Concepción (CCP)
Antofagasta (ANF) – La Serena (LSC)
Calama (CJC) – La Serena (LSC)
Santiago (SCL) – Puerto Natales (PNT)
Santiago (SCL) – Osorno (ZOS)
Santiago (SCL) – Castro (MHC)

International routes from Chile:

Brasilia (BSB) – Santiago (SCL)
Mendoza (MDZ) – Santiago (SCL)
Florianópolis (FLN) – Santiago (SCL)
Rio de Janeiro (GIG) – Santiago (SCL)
Porto Alegre (POA) – Santiago (SCL)
Punta Cana (PUJ) – Santiago (SCL)
Cancún (CUN) – Santiago (SCL)
Cusco (CUZ) – Santiago (SCL)
Punta del Este (PDP) – Santiago (SCL)
Easter Island (IPC) – Papeete (PPT)
Concepción ( CCP) – Lima (LIM)
Calama (CJC) – Lima (LIM)
Santiago (SCL) – Melbourne (MEL)
Curitiba (CWB) – Santiago (SCL)
Santiago (SCL) – Quito (UIO)
Iquique (IQQ) – Salta ( SLA)

The resumption of these routes will be reevaluated once the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic have been overcome, the company said in a statement.