Bolivia assumes U.N. Security Council presidency for June

NEW YORK – Bolivia has officially held the United Nations Security council (UNSC) presidency, replacing Uruguay.

Under the UN Charter, the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security, all member states are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

Bolivian ambassador to the U.N., Sacha Llorenti, will hold a press briefing Thursday evening at the UN headquarters in New York to share programs of work for the month.

Bolivia’s Sacha Llorenti set to assume U.N. Security Council presidency

The U.N. body has 15 members, and each member has one vote, the permanent members of the council known as the “Permanent Big Five”, including China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, while the ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly including Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine, Uruguay, New Sweden, Bolivia, Ethiopia, Italy and Kazakhstan.

The Security Council is one of the six main organs of the UN, which also include the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice and the U.N. Secretariat.

All six organs were established in 1954, after the U.N. was founded.