Nine Nations to Compete Pan American Volleyball Cup

Teams from nine countries of America, will compete the under 19 Pan American Cup of Volleyball, a competition that grants three places for the World Championship of the category in Bahrein.

Six teams of the North, Central American and Caribbean Confederation (Norceca), Costa Rica and Dominican Republic, Jamaica, México, Nicaragua and Puerto Rico, will compete for two tickets for the World Championship from August 25 to September 3. The other entry will be granted to the winner between Chile, Colombia and Perú.

The tournament includes three groups of three countries. The two winners with the best results qualify directly to the semifinal. The pool winner with the worst record joins the runner-ups to play the quarterfinals.

The Pan-American under-19 Cup is the second edition of the continental event. The first was disputed in Tijuana, Mexico in 2011, there Brazil defeated Puerto Rico for the gold medal. United States won the bronze with victory over Mexico also in consecutive sets. The tournament was not held in 2013 and 2015.

In the region, Cuba and the United States have their tickets for Bahrain, after completing the last year as champions and runner-ups respectively of the Norceca championship held in Havana.

Argentina and Brazil qualified in an event held in Lima, Peru, also in 2016.


Group A: Dominican Republic, Chile and Peru.

Group B: Colombia, Jamaica and Puerto Rico. Group C: Costa Rica, Mexico and Nicaragua.